32 Riders at Podersdorf

April 14th, 2014

Since the organization of the famous Surf Worldcup in Podersdorf, Austria decided to run the competition with a fleet of 32 riders only, but the interest to participate in the event was way higher amongst the riders of Europe and beyond, we had to generate a seeding list with the top 28 riders who would be allowed to take part. Then, to complete the fleet, wildcards had to be issued by the organizer, Continentseven and the EFPT itself. Now it’s time to present the 32 riders to you.


The riders will come out of 14 different Nations from all over the World and the fleet includes some of the biggest talents in freestyle windsurfing to the date. Likes of Tonky Frans (Gaastra/Tabou) from Bonaire, former World-Champion and current EFPT champion Steven Van Broeckhoven (JP/Neilpryde) from Belgium and his fellow countryman Dieter Van der Eyken (Severne/Starboard) who is in the top positions in both the World and the European tour. Adrien Bosson (North/Fanatic) who is one of the most highly rated riders worldwide will compete against team-mate and local matador Max Matissek (North/Fanatic).


Adrien Bosson (photo above) states:

‘It will be my third time in Podo this year and the first time for an EFPT event. It’s the first event of the year so it’s interesting to come to see the level of the other riders and to start the competition season. I’m thinking about doing all the EFPT tour so I have to be there.

Podersdorf is a big event with a really good organisation and a big festival, i like it! There is always something to do and there is super cool tow-in night competition with all the crowd watching!

It’s also always a big surprise what the conditions will be like: maybe super cold, light wind or warm and strong wind. Let’s see!’

We are looking forward to see a crazy good competition with both young more unexperienced riders as well as the best of the best!

Make sure to follow us (www.facebook.com/EFPT1) and the Surf Worldcup (www.facebook.com/surfworldcup) on Facebook as we will report LIVE!

Photocredit by: Jonathan Mourgue